In between overdoing it

time-stands-still-1153574

Mini Moment Ideas to not Totally Lose your Mind this Summer!

By Trish Russell

Let’s be real, summer is a totally different animal than the rest of the year. For those of you with kids in school, who are now, you could be feeling a little nervous about how this is REALLY gonna go down. No worries. My kids stay home with me full-time, so I am going to share my quick tricks that help me survive.

Step 1: Buy a padlock
Step 2: Grab a bottle of wine
Step 3: Don’t worry….I’m kidding!! It’s not legal to lock your kids in a closet….yourself though….😉

Ok, now that we’ve chuckled, real thoughts on mini moments for you this summer. I have suggestions below. These are different strategies I use throughout life’s seasons; pick one to try this week!
1 – Wake up 30 minutes to an hour before the kids to workout or read (2 or 3 times a week helps)
2 – Kids fight over a toy? Take it for the day – no questions, negotiations!
3 – Play a 30 minute show and go to the kitchen and read a book (or stare at a wall, have a favorite snack, drink that cup of coffee from 3 hours ago.)
4 – Put your phone away (take a moment for you that’s not a screen.)
5 – Once a week get out, BY YOURSELF!!!

Friend Hacks!
1 – Park everyday from 8:30-11:30 unless another play date/activity comes up. (Kids are 1st & 3rd graders)
2 – VBS — do it!!!
3 – Grandparent getaway

There are grand plans to get through the summer, and while those are great I’m still in survival stage. My kiddos are tiny (1-4 years old) so our days are intense and I’m constantly looking for ways to get a ‘mini me’ moment. Hopefully these ideas will serve you on the midst of vacation, tantrums or ‘I’m booored’ moments of insanity!

You can check Trish out at @GatherwithTrish or at her Facebook group OurModernVillage


Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

CreesMade

_homemade goodies_

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Just a dad ...

Still a coach. Still a daddy. Just not Coach Daddy anymore.

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Professional Decluttering & Organizing Services

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

baguettes and boarding passes

travelling the world and eating it!