In between overdoing it

orlando strong stand togehter or fall apart

“Mommy why would someone shoot all those people?

This was the question my 5-year-old son asked me as we sat in Church last Sunday. He posed this question after the priest relayed the information about the devastating mass shooting that took place in Orlando, not far from where we live. All I could do was sit there and think, Why did that happen? Why would someone do this? All those people?

Starting at my little boys face, my eyes started to well up with tears. How in the world was I going to explain this to him? How was I going to explain the fear and sorrow created by this event? He is only 5. He doesn’t need to know this yet was what came to my mind.

For me, I didn’t know any of the people killed or injured. Did it change how I felt? Not in the least. I felt sorrow. I mourned them.

The night club that was targeted was a gay club but this more then just about the sexual orientation of the club occupants. They were most likely targets for what they represented. America. Freedom. Tolerance.  They were targeted for being themselves exactly as god made them.

See this was a crime against us all. The people that were killed were men, women, sons, daughters, brothers, sisters, loved ones and friends. People are going to try and point to gun violence as the source. They will make it about the fact it was a gay club, they will say it is the fault or the policies of Democrats or Republican. The police or the club owners. They will spin it into something else.

But what it is a terrorist attack, like Tel Aviv, Paris, 911. An blatant attack against all of us, it is an attack on our way of life, an attack against the freedom to be who we are. Regardless of what party you are, who you will vote for and what you believe.

This was an attack on us all.

In the memory of those that were senselessly murdered. Please… do not let the media, or politics get in the way, don’t let them change the reality of what has happened. Try you best to value our way of life. Even if you disagree with the political leanings  of your neighbor, show respect for their differing views and remember in the end we are all one, we are all united.

As I sat there trying to hide my tears from my son. I kept thinking how will I explain acts of evil to my innocent 5-year-old son who should be shielded and protected from this. Why do we live in a society where these hateful acts are becoming commonplace?

He then asked the question. My beautiful sweet boys who could not comprehend the level of hatred and evil it took to commit these acts. He, and I for that matter, could not understand why someone would kill those people.  He put into the simplest but most accurate why he could. “Mommy is he a bad guy?”

Yes.. I answered, “He is a very bad guy.” [ctt title=”All of us need to remember if we do not stand together against the ‘bad guys’ then the evil has already beaten us. ” tweet=”All of us need to remember if we do not stand together against the ‘bad guys’ then the evil has already beaten us. ” coverup=”53MQj”]If we do not put aside our differences, then our own way of life will be lost. Stand together or we most definitely will fall apart.

A Gofundme page has been set up by Equality Florida to donate to the victims of the Orlando Shooting go to Pulse Victims Fund.

Comments on: "Stand Together or Fall Apart." (3)

  1. 😦 😦 I know, so heart-wrenching! Thank you for sharing your wise and compassionate thoughts at #FridayFrivolity!! Pinning and tweeting….

    Like

  2. […] In Between Moderation About answering your kids question about Orlando… […]

    Like

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

CreesMade

_homemade goodies_

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Tips to Organize Your Home, Your Money, and Your Life!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. BE KINDER. LIVE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

