In between overdoing it

prepping for hurricane matthew

The Fear of Uncertainty

I’m posting this a little early because of the timing of the possibility I will lose power and not be able to post it on Saturday. When this challenge was issued, I had no idea what was in store for me and my State. In retrospect the fear I was thinking of was more about conquering inner fears such as overcoming sales objections, fear of asking for a discount or letting others down. I did not anticipating having to face the fear’s that come along with a major weather event. But here I am.

As I write this South Florida is trying to decide what to do about Hurricane Matthew. The major fear circulating is that of uncertainty. Us South Floridian’s are all feeling it right about now. If I don’t make preparations now, then will I be able to do it later? If Mathew grows into a larger storm what impact will it have? And probably the scariest of them all is the idea that if this storm turns slightly to the left we could be taking a direct hit from a possible Cat 3 or 4 storm?

The fear is very real. Co-workers, neighbors and family members are all look to each other to gauge how we should be reacting. No one seems quite certain what will happen. So we wait…we talk… we watch the news and we wait some more.

There is something to be said for how we handle this type of fear. Do we go overboard, and sink into hysterics? Or rather do we take it lightly and do nothing? Can we prepare calmly and methodically with the hope it will all be for nothing? In truth, I have been vacillating between all of these stages over the past 24 hours.

When I think about how I feel and what I fear it is deeply rooted in this fear of uncertainty. How do you plan when you don’t know what you are facing? What do you need to do to protect your loved ones? If don’t know what to expect how can I even plan to overcome this fear?

I have decided to have a plan and have some faith. Because there is a chance this could be worse than predicted I plan. It gives me piece of mind to know my family has prepared as best we could for what might come our way. Don’t get me wrong. People think I am crazy for this approach. They think I am worrying for nothing, but through planning I can deal with my fear, misplaced or otherwise. In knowing I did all that is in my power to do and it helps take some of that fear away.

The rest is faith. Like in other areas of life, some of the things we fear are beyond our control. We cannot predict what will happen so we take that leap of faith and give our fears over to a higher power. We let go of the fear.

In addition, when I issued this challenge a hurricane was not the task I envisioned overcoming. But it was clearly put in my path for a reason.

What was your task? What have you learned? Please leave a comment in the section below this post and share what your cease the moment task was and how you felt about it. What you learned and how things ended up for you.

Now on to this week’s challenge.

Week 2: Learn about something you found intimidating

Do you feel you are too old or too young to learn something new? Well, banish those thoughts…at least for this week. Put yourself in the mindset of a fresh college student eager to learn. Get rid of all the negative what if thoughts.

What if you can’t follow the lesson? If you don’t know what they are talking about? Or if I make a fool out of myself? Pay no attention to that little man on your shoulder, whispering self doubt in your ear.

Have you always wanted to learn how to make a soufflé? Gather the ingredients and start. Always dreamed of fixing your car yourself? Sign up for a class or ask your mechanic to give you a lesson. Like wise, people are surprisingly eager to teach what they know to a willing student and demonstrate their expertise. All you have to do is get up the nerve to as

Comments on: "Five Weeks of Scary Challenge: Week 1" (4)

  1. Praying for your safety. I feel more fear when I am alone. When I am in charge or taking care of others I don’t have time for fear because I am too busy to worry

    Like

    • That is so true! You are busying yourself with the care of others so it disreacts you from how you are feeling. I found that I delt with my fears by keeping busy. My house has never been so clean, except for our outdoor furniture in the dining room. Thanks for your prayers. They worked and we are safe.

      Like

  2. Very insightful, love the tips…I pray everything works out ok… Be safe ❤ 🙂

    Like

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

CreesMade

_homemade goodies_

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Tips to Organize Your Home, Your Money, and Your Life!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. BE KINDER. LIVE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

