In between overdoing it

UntitledFor most of my time on this planet I have been living in the “What if’s.” I have lacked the confidence, ability and maybe even the desire to moved out of “What if.” “What if” is the land where fear rules. “What’s if” is also a place where there is very little movement or growth. “What if” is a land of stagnation and sameness. Recently, I packed my bags and moved out of the “What if’s.” Here are two ventures that have helped me move forward.

The first and biggest is my venture on to Periscope. If you have never heard of Periscope it is a live streaming app available to your phone. There you broadcast to people all over the country. They can interact with you via a comment area at the bottom of the screen.

I have discussed my dislike for being in front of any camera on this blog before.(A Self Portrait in Self Loathing) So for me this challenge is a big one. It’s true, I feel totally awkward and weird sitting in my car by myself talking to my phone screen, but then a magical thing happened. People started commenting and joining in on my broadcasts. I actually forgot about my messy hair, my lack of make-up, and frequently losing my train of thought.

It actually started to feel OK. So I challenged myself to scope everyday for the next 5 days. Then I went one step further. I challenged others to do this with me. Once I put it out there that is when the real accountability for me began. Each day I broadcast I feel a little bit less weird and awkward. Even if no one watches or joins in I know I am challenging myself. Moving myself out of my comfort zone.

The second challenge has to do with my Beachbody coaching. I have talked about my diet journey before but I am not a salesperson. I am not good at well…hawking my wares sorta speak. To be honest, I hate that part. I am constantly afraid of coming off “salesy” so I rarely even mention the coaching thing to anyone I know. I do believe in the products and use them daily but feel uncomfortable about mentioning it outside of this blog. I have had a lot of diet salespeople push me into buying stuff over the years and I don’t want to be that guy.

So I got to thinking what type of environment will make me ok with presenting these products but not make me feel like a pusher? Well, I stumbled upon a video from the “Tag Team,” (they are a hysterically funny duo who use to be in sales but have since created a formula to help people do Facebook parties online.) I thought this might work for me.

Now for the fear part. In addition to my fear of “salesiness,” the Facebook party thing has never been used in this way. I would be breaking new ground. I would be trying something completely new and different with nothing to guide me along the way. In the past, I would have given up and moved on. But since I am facing fears I’m going to give it a go. My fear in this case. What if now one shows up? What if it is a complete failure? What if I can’t do it? Fear is all in the “What if’s.” To face my fears I have to let go of the “What if’s” and just go for it.  Facing_Fears_Quotes-02

Moving out of our comfort zone is scary. It is an internal struggle against your self and your own imaginary circumstance. But the cool side effect of facing you fears is that once you overcome one, you are emboldened to take on others. Before you know it you are entering a world where you are accomplishing things you never thought you would try. You set your sites higher, create more and find a new fulfillment and richness to life.

To find me on Periscope I’m under MmrliRuddy.

 

 

Comments on: "Living in the “What if’s”" (4)

  1. As a fellow citizen of “what-if” nation, I can relate to this. Glad you’re breaking out too

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Best wishes! XOXOX

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Coach Daddy

It's about fatherhood, futbol, and food.

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

