In between overdoing it

15 Things I learned in 2015

ther

Instead of dwelling on the events of the past I thought I would list out the lessons learned that I will carry into 2016.

  1. Embrace a challenge/try something new – This started with the Whole30 diet plan. It was really hard! It taught me that I can do the hard stuff if I want to. It pushed me into a pwpid-wp-1448047445373.jpgoint of discomfort and made it ok to challenge myself. This lead me to dip my toe in the water of blogging and eventually work towards starting my own cake business.
  2. Seek out what makes you, you.- In 2014 I knew something need to change. I needed to become more then just a mom and a wife. I needed to rediscover what I’m about. So I started this blog. It was a huge leap for me. But getting back to writing was one of the best things I have ever done for myself. It has given me support, creativity, and a voice again. I also traveled back to NY where I grew up. Confronting the past and embracing the now was not as scary as I thought it would be.
  3. Accepting disappointment – This year was not without some disappointment. For example a job I really wanted, the job I pictured myself in, did not come though. In the past I would have beaten myself up over this. This year, with the help of this blog, I looked at it a different way. There is something I am meant for and that position was not it. I had to trust in Gods plan for me.
  4. “Bloom where you are planted” -This came out of the Money Saving Mom’s budget book and it really resonated with me. I was put on this path for some reason. I could spend my time wishing things were different, easier or more like someone else’s life. Or I could accept the gifts that were right in front of me and learn from them.
  5. Don’t try to do it all/ Stop trying to be Pintrest mommy – I wrote a post earlier in the year about not trying to do it all. I have been letting go if the picture of the mother/wife/person I thought I was suppose to be and try to accept the person I am. Which means a messy house and children who use electronics and eat fast-food sometimes.
  6. Appreciate my health – I don’t mean to interject Beachbody into everything but it has really helped me. I have grown to a much great appreciation of what this body can accomplish if I am consistent in feeding it right. I have found that I am much stronger physically then I thought , if I allow myself to be.
  7. Slowdown/ Be in the moment – Take a walk and appreciate the life you have instead of constantly waiting for some imaginary better thing and moments in the future. Savior my children, play and enjoy nature instead of checking off items on a to-do list.wp-1451440231899.jpg
  8. Put on make-up – I know it is a weird one to have on this list. At the beginning of this blog I posted an Instagram challenge. During this challenge I realized how much I hated having my picture taken. After listening to a makeup tutorial from Tiffany Lee Bymaster” Coach Glitter,” I felt I found a kindred spirt in her. She suffered from the same skin issues that have made me so self conscious my whole life. After hearing her on Periscope and following her tutorial I finally learned how to put on make-up and feel ok with being having my picture taken. Seriously check her out she is awesome.
  9. Let go of negative thinking and people – This year I have made a conscous effort to surround myself with positive, happy, confidant people. I came to realize I am somewhat of an empath in that I take in the emotions and energy of others. (I know I sound hippy dippy when I say this.) By surrounding myself with these people and letting go I the negative. I have learned I am capable of so much more.
  10. Stop watching the news – My husband loves to watch the news but I noticed it was making me angry, fearful and even hateful. Once I shut it off and found alternate information sources I was much happier.
  11. Use the Crockpot- I mean it was sitting there n the cabinet all this time but I had no idea how much of a healthy, timesaver it was. The Facebook Crockpot challenge I was involved in really brought this home for me and I have been using my Crockpot like crazy.
  12. What gets measured gets managed -This year I have attempted to get back to budgeting and keeping better track of my money. I have discovered that by not keeping track of investments I was throwing away money. Also, I discovered I needed to save more for retirement and learn more about investing. This will be ongoing into 2016.
  13. Your 9-5 job doesn’t define who you are – This was a tough one for me this year. I had always felt that what I did from 9-5 directly reflected the person was, how successful I am, and how others would judge me. This year I had to change my thinking and realize sometime a job is just that…a job. Sometimes it is not the road to a career. It doesn’t define you. You define you. I have discovered myself again though this blog. It has opened my eyes to so many other things that I am and can become outside of my 9-5 job. This has even brought me to a greater understanding and appreciation for that job. Who knew?
  14.  Build something that is just yours – I have expanded on my hobby of cake decorating. I still have much to learn but I’m having a great time learning it. In doing so I have taken some time away to attend a cake show this year. This taught me so much about myself and was such a positive experience I will do it every year. Everyone needs a hobby, a creative outlet that they do for no other reason then it brings them joy.
  15. Cherish and be grateful for those around you -After years of wishing to be wpid-wp-1446998950368.jpgsomeone else I have accepted myself and have accepted those that were put into my life. For most of my life I wanted to be different then who I am. But who I am has brought me these wonderful people, my amazing husband, and my fun, joyful children. At 40 I can finally accept I am exactly where I am meant to be an I would not change it for anything.

Here’s to 2016 and a new year of life lessons in balance and moderation!

 

Comments on: "15 Things I learned in 2015" (5)

  1. Lol I have learnt a lot from your lessons as well. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m REALLY struggling with that 9-5 doesn’t define who you are business. UGH. 🙂 Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting tips–put on makeup, use the crockpot, avoid the news! My favorites,
    Thanks for bringing it to the Bloggers Pit Stop
    Janice, Pit Stop Crew

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

CreesMade

_homemade goodies_

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Tips to Organize Your Home, Your Money, and Your Life!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. BE KINDER. LIVE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

