In between overdoing it

Overdoing Christmas

image

Today is one of those days where the hustle and bustle of the holidays totally gets to me. I feel so tired and run down and well….over the whole Christmas thing. I know that sounds awful but there are still so many presents to wrap and things to do. I thought I was better this year, but I still feel totally overwhelmed. On top of that I have a cold which is zapping my energy.

It’s sad when you just want the holidays to be over so you can get some rest. I know the holidays are not about presents or decorations but let’s face it, there is an expectation people have and us women, mom’s especially, feel it is our responsibility to give everyone great Christmas memories. We bake cookies, buy presents, hang decorations, think of everyone and everything…but ourselves. Then Christmas comes and we are so over it and worn out. We are actually looking forward to the end of this jolly marathon.

Like I promised myself I would do this year, I’m hitting pause to re-examine why I’m feeling overwhelmed. I have been under the weather and things have been piling up. I know the best thing to do is take somethings off my plate. Take off some of the pressure. So the Christmas cards are going out late this year. Hubby is going to wrap some of the presents, and the cookie dough will have to stay in the freezer for a little while. Don’t let Christmas overwhelm you. This year I’m going to try and do the same. On that note, I’m going back to bed. Hopefully I will have sugar plums instead of anxiety, dancing in my head.

Comments on: "Overdoing Christmas" (2)

  1. Oh my gosh! My coworkers and I were just talking about how all of us got super anxious, stressed out and irritable last night! There must have been something in the air. For some reason the AC has been BLASTING straight on me for 2 days at work now and we can’t control it (has to go through The Building) so I wasn’t feeling well and then I was just so overwhelmed. I had gifts to get in the mail. The boyfriend was sick so he forgot to wrap the presents he promised me he would wrap. After I wrap them, I go to put them in the box and I’m OUT OF PACKING TAPE. For some unknown reason. So of course I freak out because this means I’ll have to make a stop at Walmart BEFORE I go to the post office and blah blah blah.

    I left my house at 6:50 this morning, went to Walmart for the packing tape and thanks to the self-serve kiosk at the post office, packages were in the mail by 7:30. All worked out but still. Little mini breakdown in there! LOL You are NOT alone!

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting I really needed to hear that. After my anxiety attack this morning and some well needed rest. I think I’m OK, at least for today. It means a lot to hear that others feel the same way.

      Like

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Coach Daddy

It's about fatherhood, futbol, and food.

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

