In between overdoing it

Untitled

This holiday season kind of snuck up on me. The busyness, the shopping, the craziness, the need to met everyone’s needs. It is easy to lose sight of what the season is suppose to be about. This holiday I feel even less prepared, less ready and it’s as if time has sped up. So I’m going to try and take a step back. Try to correct the mistakes I have made in the past so this year I can really enjoy the holidays. Here are 5 mistakes I will try to avoid this time around.

  1.  Overspending – I run around like a lunatic trying to get the perfect gift for everyone and spending way more than I budgeted. This year I have come to realize what my family needs are not more things. It is more time together, making memories. Another set of glasses, or a decorative item will not mean all that much as a nice lunch together with a friend, or a craft project with Grandma. I mean do we really need another knick knack that will get lost in the never ending parade of things?
  2. Overeating – I like to bake. I like baked goods. This time of year I do a lot of both. Usually, I overdo it. Then feel absolutely sick and disgusted with myself come January 1. This cycle starts on Halloween and ends with my pants being to tight come the new year. This year the cycle was starting, (See my Can’t stop eating Halloween Candy. post) but this year I found a great, support group. This has helped me steer away from the treats and goodies all around this time of year. I even lost weight during Thanksgiving! Wow, that is a first.
  3. Not being grateful -I will admit this time of year, I tend to only see the negative. The hustle and bustle, the frenzy of gift buying, the craziness of too much to do. I don’t stop and think of being grateful for this life, my health, the loving people I have around me. This year I am going to try and take stock. I want to start the new year being more focused of the riches I have then the things I don’t. Because really it is all about perspective.
  4. Overscheduling -Every year I have a list of holiday activities I would like to do. I squeeze these activity into the margins of time I have and end up rushing through them on to the next event of activity. This one I think will be the toughest for me to break free from. I am a list-maker (In case you couldn’t tell) But during the holidays I get so focused on accomplishing stuff on my list that I forget to enjoy the moment. This year, I will try to keep it light and breezy and not overdue it in this area. I will try to stay in the moment as they wp-1449688781361.jpghappen.
  5. Remember the Reason for the Season -I am Catholic.  You might not be. But the themes of the holidays are universal. Giving, caring for one another, showing kindness, brotherhood, family, love… there is so much more to this season then shopping, eating and decorations. It is a feeling that, regardless of religion, we can all experience. Because really who is offended my a Christmas Tree? Or a Menorah? Or a Nativity?  It’s just a thing, a symbol. It’s the feelings they evoke that are what is important. It’s the history and tradition that we can all learn from. Who really cares if you tell someone Merry Christmas who doesn’t celebrate it. It’s the point that you are wishing them well, to be merry, to be happy. That you care for your fellow man. That’s what matters, not which holiday you are offended by.
Comments on: "5 Mistakes I’m trying not to make this Holiday Season" (9)

  1. Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    This is In Between Moderation!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m also trying to curb back. Clean my plate of unnecessary, so to speak.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve broken 1,3 and 5 already

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m trying to do the same this year. I made a commitment not to buy any new decorations, cards, wrappings, etc which has saved me quite a bit of money and most of my gifts this year will be homemade from my existing yarn stash. 🙂 I’m not going to bake until Christmas Eve, and then only ONE batch of cookies (peppermint chocolate meringues because my mom is GF). 🙂 I actually took two days off work last week just so I could craft and sit and stare at my tree instead of getting caught up in office drama. I think this will need to become a yearly tradition! Haha 🙂

    Anyway, Merry Christmas to you! Glad you’re able to focus on what’s truly important this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think handmade gifts are the way to go. They have so much more meaning and care to them. This year I took a day off and it has made all the difference. Glad to hear you did it too. Thanks for commenting and I hope you have a nice relaxing Christmas.

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

CreesMade

_homemade goodies_

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Tips to Organize Your Home, Your Money, and Your Life!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. BE KINDER. LIVE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

