In between overdoing it

2016 Finance Goals

money-border-clip-art4Finance will be the first topic I will take on as part of my weekly goal setting challenge. As I head into 2016 my finance are not a totally mess, however they are not where I would like them to be. I still feel really disorganized when it comes to knowing where my money is going. I feel like I am caught unaware to often when a bill comes due or money needs to be outlaid for an expense. So since like balance and moderation and a work in progress I thought I would send this time trying to pin point what my financial goals are this year.

Financial goal#1

Save money for a new car: I know I would like to get an SUV since I will need a flat truck area to help me delivering cakes as I progress in my cake venture. I already have a saving account set up for this purpose. My plan is to save $200 a month to supplement what I have already saved for this goal. I am hoping to have 2016/17 to build up this savings and complete this goal by December 2017.

Financial goal #2

Create more income: I have set out on this path kind of unintentionally by becoming a Beachbody coach. I do believe in the benefits of their products and hope that this will bring me success in growing as a coach. I will continue to promote my new coach status on social media so you will be seeing this link from time to time. Since I am so new at this part and don’t really want to be salesy I will have to think on how I will approach this going forward.

I will also continue to educate myself in cake decorating, right now I consider myself in a training phase so I am only set up to do one to two small cakes  a month for the next year, but my plan is to be able to handle a steady two orders a month by the end of 2016, and to charge full per slice fees by the end of 2017. To achieve this I plan on attending 2 conferences and taking at least five classes in 2016.

Financial goal #3

Reduce bills: Now that I have been using Mint.com for a few months, the program has given me some suggestions on how to reduce my expenses, by things like changing my car insurance. In order to achieve this goal I will schedule a time on a Friday, January 15 in order to get a quote from a new auto insurance company.

Goal-quotes-life-quotes-Dont-let-life-change-your-goals-because-achieving-your-goals-can-change-your-life

I have also been much more lax in tracking my grocery expenditures then I was originally planning. So going into 2016 I wish to limit my grocery budget to no more then $600 total per month and only eat no more than 2 weekends per month. My plan is to consistently track these two expenses by checking into Mint.com for 10 minutes every Friday afternoon in order to see if I am staying on budget. I’m only going to focus on these two categories in 2016 because this is where I find I most frequently overspend.

Bonus goal (if possible):  Get new flooring! For the past several years we have had a hole in our floor that I cover with a rug. The whole was from a window leak that softened the flooring. The leak was fixed but to fix the hole requires an entire new floor for that room. I don’t foresee being able to afford getting the floor this year but I am adding this to the list as something I would like to achieve.

These are all personal goals I would like to achieve for myself and my family. As for the finance catagorie on this blog, I plan to continue with my Sunday Saving series in an effort to help me continue to learn about finance. I also plan to create an ebook from my on-line budget review series. Please leave me feedback and let me know what you finance goals are, and how you plan to achieve them. I would love to hear your plans.

 

 

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

CreesMade

_homemade goodies_

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Tips to Organize Your Home, Your Money, and Your Life!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. BE KINDER. LIVE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

