In between overdoing it

candy-corn-1538379You knew I was going to go there. With Halloween on the horizon and the willpower to resist set for impending doom, I had to do a post about limiting the Halloween candy. It is not just a problem for the kiddies. The sugar high hits adults pretty hard. I know by the end of the night I have dripped into my kids treat bag one to many times. For me even if I hide the candy away it calls to me… Whispers in that seductive mini-chocolate bar voice. “I’m right here..in the cabinet. They kids are asleep… they will never know.”

It is my own version of a Telltale Heart in candy. The voice gets louder and louder till unknowingly my hands are drawn to the candy bag before I can stop them. When I come to and realize what I have done, I stand amongst a counter of candy wrapper shrapnel. The sad remains of the sugar and excess calories I have consumed. Don’t be like me! Stop the evil candy demon from possessing your mind. Here are some strategies I plan on trying in the hopes of keeping the siren song of the Baby Ruth, Tootsie Roll, and Milky Way, at bay.colorful-candies-1505050

  1. Don’t open the bag!- As I have said before, I am an “all or nothing” type of person. Once I start on the slippery road of sugar, it is usually a quick down hill slide that continues till I hit rock bottom…or the bottom of the treat bag.
  2. Drink water– Ok, I know it is not a replacement for chocolate but, if I drink enough water, the feeling of fullness might make it to uncomfortable to eat candy.
  3. Wear tight clothes– Again the discomfort of tight clothing might trick me mentally into not wanting to eat any candy.
  4. Set up a non-food reward– If I go the night without eating candy I will by myself new shoes!!! ( Hey, this one might actually work!)
  5. Distraction, out of sight out of mind – Tell my family not to let me eat the candy, have them hide it when we come home. (Ok, I know this one is a long shot.)
I would love to say that I am the type of person who can stand firm and say I will not eat candy on Halloween, but it’s Halloween. If you have any suggestions please help! I would desperately love to hear them! Please help me prevent the candy driven shame I will feel the day after Halloween. For those of you that can have “just a piece,” Enjoy.
Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

CreesMade

_homemade goodies_

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Tips to Organize Your Home, Your Money, and Your Life!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. BE KINDER. LIVE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

