In between overdoing it

new-york-sunset-1529351

This week is going to be an interesting one for me. I head back to my home territory in NY. First we will start in upstate New York, then later in the week we will head south through NYC and to Long Island where I grew up. It will be kind of weird to revisit my life as it was almost 20 years ago. I have not been back for almost 10 years and the last trip was kind of sad.

This time around I want it to be a happy memory. I want to show my children where I grew up. Where there grandparents came from. Why people in NY talk funny. OK maybe I can’t answer that much.

I plan on continuing the journey into what has made me…well me. That might mean confronting some difficult memories and reconciling the past. But fear, pain and discomfort has kept me from visiting and embracing my New York self. It is time that I accepted all parts of myself even the ones I have been running from. I guess I have been running from seeing things change. Having to confront that my Dad is gone and I am no longer from New York. I am no longer the 20 something college kid I was last time I lived there. But change can be good. I just have to embrace it.

photo by Adam Ciesielski

photo by Adam Ciesielski

On a happier note, I plan on taking you with me to see the sites of New York. Upstate where the leaves are starting to change. New York City, with its kinetic energy and excitement, and Long Island, which holds a little of both with some family thrown in.

I am excited to show you New York and re-experience it again myself. Should be a fun trip!

Comments on: "Covering The North South Divide" (2)

  1. Where in upstate NY are you from? I’m about 20 minutes north of Buffalo.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Coach Daddy

It's about fatherhood, futbol, and food.

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

