In between overdoing it

money-dow

This week I will give you the run down of all the special features with the Every Dollar on-line budgeting program. I’ll be honest, it is nowhere near the amount of free special features of Budget Tracker, but I think the features it has are pretty interesting. There are three major areas that are available to explore in this program, The Baby Steps, Local Advisors and Help Center.

The Baby Steps tab introduces users who might not be familiar with Dave Ramsey to his 7 Baby Steps to financial freedom. I have to side with Dave on this one. If you do his steps as he has mapped them out then your really are setting yourself up for a great financial future. I would love to say I have been successful in following these steps, but if I did well then I wouldn’t need to do these reviews at all. The interesting part about this feature is that it coordinates with the data you put into you budget to map out your progress in each baby step.

For instance, Baby Step 2 is paying off debt. If you budgeted for a $200 payment to your credit card that payment shows up under you debit snowball. It shows you how much you have progressed in this step. Don’t know what a debit snowball is? Don’t worry the program also includes more information and tips for achieving each Baby Step. I really like this set-up. It is an interesting way to approach your savings and pay-off goals and it is helpful that it pulls the data you have already entered into the Baby Step goal setting. nest-egg-security-1241471

The second area is local advisors. Dave Ramsey has a program called Endorsed Local Providers, where he enlists professionals in various areas, that are familiar with his Baby Steps philosophy, and recommends them to his users. This is basically that program. When you click into this area it gives you several options like purchasing auto, home or life insurance, buying or selling a home, or retirement and investing. Once you click into this area you are asked to enter your contact information so a local profession can call you. This is an ok feature, but I’m not that cool on being solicited. I probably would not use it and it doesn’t really contribute to my budgeting experience. It is kind of more like additional advertising in the form of a helpful suggestion. So this is not really an impressive area for me.

The third feature area, is not really a feature at all but the Help Center. The reason I mention it is because well there is not much else to mention feature wise. Also, I like the way it is set up with a large variety of articles about the program. I also appreciate the amount of detail this Help Center has. That was something I felt was lacking in Budget Tracker and Simple Budget. It has a decent amount of information delivered in a concise easy to find way. If you need to know how to edit a transactions for example, this answer is easy to find and understand. I also like that there is an area to request help should you have a question not covered by the help center.

That is pretty much it. By far I think the best feature, as well as something you won’t find anywhere else, is the Baby steps. If your already familiar with Dave Ramsey’s program this would work out well for you. However, I think a few other free features might have been nice to explore and I could have done with out another sales pitch in the local advisers section. Next week I will give my summary review of Every Dollar.

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. LIVE KINDER. BE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

