In between overdoing it

photo2Yesterday I posted this Instagram challenge as a new way to experience a social media platform I know nothing about. I understand that it is picture driven and figured that a photo challenge would be a great way to jump start my use of Instagram. However, a strange thing happened. Once I posted the challenge I took a look at the first days requirement. It was to post a self-portrait.

When I first read the challenge list I figured this wouldn’t be that big a deal. Now when it came time to take and post a picture of myself I was nervous. Nervous? I never realized how few pictures I was in. Also, I never took pictures of myself, by myself. If I did I always hated them and deleted then as quick as possible. Here I was starting a challenge where I had to actually post (and not delete) a picture of myself. It was agony.

I kept thinking what is wrong with me people post “selfies” all the time and don’t think twice. Why was I so bothered by one single picture of myself, by myself. So I went off into a back of a room, in front of a window and took a “selfie” something I have only done once in my lifetime (Totally not on purpose.) I hated it. Deleted it. Took another. Hated it. Deleted it. Took another. Hated it. Hit delete. You get the idea.

After several tries, I realized I had a problem. Why did I dislike my own picture so much. Where was this self loathing coming from? I know I am no super model. But who is? I know rationally they are airbrushed and made up by a team of professionals to create a look of perfection. What was I expecting? Still with every picture all I saw were flaws. My face looks too wide. My skin was too blemished. My hair is a mess. My smile looked weird.

This picture couldn’t really be me? A reflection of me? Was this how others saw me? I realized it wasn’t how others saw me. It was how I saw myself. I didn’t see any beauty, any strength, anything thing of value on the outside. I only saw deficiencies and flaws. When did I get like this? Where did this poor image of myself come from? More importantly, how was I suppose to set a positive example of self love for my children when deep down I felt like this. I mean I never actually confronted it until the moment I issued this challenge, but it was always there lurking. That’s why I was always behind the camera, never in front of it. I could always see the beauty in others, but never in myself.

If I want to raise my kids to have a healthy self image. I needed to fix this. So I stared into my camera phone, clicked the picture and hit post.

( Side note: Did not get much of a response from the challenge so if you would like me to follow you on Instagram send me a comment and I will be happy to do so)

Comments on: "A Self Portrait in Self Loathing" (1)

  1. […] have discussed my dislike for being in front of any camera on this blog before.(A Self Portrait in Self Loathing) So for me this challenge is a big one. It’s true, I feel totally awkward and weird […]

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. BE KINDER. LIVE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

