In between overdoing it

everydollar

This week I will explore EveryDollar, Dave Ramsey’s free online budgeting program. Having used his pay budgeting service it will be interesting to see how it compares and what features it offers. I have to add that I really did like his paid service but found it a bit difficult for me to stay consistent with. It offered a little to much and required more time then I had to maintain so I have not used it for months. (I’m still subscribed to it however.)

Upon entering the site I am required to submit my email and create a password. After entering my email it recognized that I had been a subscriber to Dave Ramsey’s budgeting program and prompted me to submit that password. Not sure how this connection will matter. One thing I did not care for was having to verify my email before getting started. I just want to jump right in and start making my budget. My email is so over crowed having another possible solicitation service just kinda bothered me.

Once you verify your email a nice quick intro comes up ending with a solicitation for Every Dollar Plus. For now I will stick with the free option. The categories for your budget are pretty straight forward. First, you enter your monthly income. No option is given to enter a bi-weekly or weekly amount, as we have seen in other plans. The categories include, giving saving, housing, transportation, food, lifestyle, insurance and taxes. Within each group there are a bunch of other suggestions for budget items such as car replacement. restaurants, and child care. I really liked the set-up. It is very easy to understand and straight forward.  You can also add other categories as needed.

image from buzzquotes

image from buzzquotes

To start off you enter the amount you plan to spend for each category of the month. This, of course, is an estimation and the intro lets you know that it will not be super accurate the first time around. Once all your expense and income information is entered a chart comes up on the sidebar that tells you what percent of your income is going to each specific category. I know it is a small thing, but I also like how each category is color coded in this chart. It helped me to differentiate each piece of information.

That is pretty much it. Just enter the estimated amounts and your budget is ready for the month. I was actually really surprised at how easy it was. The paid program I used before took a lot more time to enter the information and seemed to expect a lot more accuracy to start off. So far I am really happy with this new streamlined program. It is much more simplified and straight forward then I expected. Next week I will add some transactions and see if they are equally as easy.

Comments on: "Every Dollar Budget Review – Week 1" (1)

  1. Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    In Between Moderation offers up a review of Every Dollar, an online budgeting program. Very informative!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. LIVE KINDER. BE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

