In between overdoing it

harry potter

When I was pregnant with my daughter, I remember settling in on the couch during my last week of pregnancy and reading the final Harry Potter, non-stop, cover to cover. The day after I finished the book series was the day my first child came into the world. So it seems very fitting that at the age of 8 my daughter is now enjoying the Harry Potter series like I did.

My daughter has become a voracious reader and has been plowing thru the book series. Unfortunately, she has been reading it a lot fasted then I expected. She is already on book four, “The Goblet of Fire.” This one really started to deal with much darker themes and I’m not sure if she is ready for it.

According to commonsensemedia.org, “Goblet of Fire,” is really more appropriate for a 9 or ten year old. So that leaves me to think, “What should I do?” Do I discourage her from reading the next book? Do I let her read it and see what happens? What, if any, kind of effects will this have on her development?  Apparently, I am not the only one that has considered this because there are several book about the physiology of Harry Potter. This fascinates me, but that’s a conversation for another day.

I’m finding it difficult to walk the line between keeping my little girl “little” and exposing her to themes that I know are coming down the road anyway. Nine is the start of the tween years where children have almost crawled out of their baby shelled shelf, but are not quite fully ready to embrace a teens need to grow up so fast. The later Harry Potter book deal with death and darkness, violence and neglect. But on the flip side it also shows resilience and friendship, sacrifice and belief in others. Most of all the idea that love conquers all, even the big bad guy. books

I know she will encounter these ideas in other areas of life. But in a world that wants my daughter to grow up faster then she is ready for. Where radio song with inappropriate lyrics are market to her. Where TV shows and ads can’t be left on because they sell products my daughter doesn’t need to know about or depict young woman in an overly sexualized way. A world that pays no mind to her innocents and sweet nature.

Thankfully, Harry Potter doesn’t present things in an inappropriate way how radio and TV does. I guess the question is about yours and your child’s comfort level with the darker themes. I don’t know many 7-8 year old’s who are mature enough to understand the darker themes of the later books without being scared.

This along with the fact that my daughter is not at an age to fully understand the greater positive themes. The ones that counter balance the darker parts of the story. Until she has a better understanding of this, I think I will wait a few years and hold on to her childhood innocent a while longer.

Comments on: "Harry Potter in Moderation" (3)

  1. I am not a parent but I would say small doeses of HP would be fine. The Goblet of Fire is when it transitions from a young person’s book to more of a young adult/teenage thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

CreesMade

_homemade goodies_

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Tips to Organize Your Home, Your Money, and Your Life!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. BE KINDER. LIVE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

