In between overdoing it

red-apple-1097199-m

I’m about a week into my 21 day fix program and I think I finally get it. it’s all about portion control. I have done a lot of reading about what to eat, food additives, GMO’s and such. I know veggies and fruits are better for you. I know that homemade is better than store-bought. I have followed the no processed food axiom. I stay away from chemicals. I get all of that. My problem…well I eat to much. The secret to moderation, to much of anything is not a good thing. Even fruits and vegetables.

I just assumed because I was eating healthy that I could eat more. Even thought I was eating healthier lower calorie foods, I was compensating for my deprivation by eating more of them. Then add on top of that the emotional eating (we’re I’m eating bad stuff almost to compulsion to deal with stress.) That’s a recipe for disaster. No wonder I felt so out of control because well…I was out of control.

My portion size was way to big for the frequency I was eating. I have not so much conquered the stress/emotional eating part of this equation. I need to dig a bit deeper for that, but this was a huge break thru. I know for a long time, I was just going along using food to comfort. Never facing the reality of what I was doing. I hide it, made it my dirty secret.wpid-20150707_193438-1.jpg

Deciding to do this and record my feelings here on this blog has made me accountable. It has made me face my dirty little secret of overeating. It has made me face the shame I feel. On the outside I was healthy but mysteriously could never lose any weight. On the outside I eat veggies and exercised, but behind closed doors, when the kids are fighting and the dog needs to go out and I haven’t had a moment of peace. I would eat. Having regimented amount in such a specific way has helped me recognize this about my eating habits. It has brought these issues front and center for me because to give in to the emotional eating would be to blow this whole program. I’m not willing to do that, not anymore.

I still have much to figure out about my emotional eating. Where it is coming from and how to correct the behavior. I also need to think how I will make these new habits stick after the 21 days. I have a lot of work to do, but this is a start. Thanks for following along in my search for dietary moderation.

Comments on: "Eureka! Portion Control" (3)

  1. Hope you figure out how to control and overcome this. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] the amount of food I eat. I was using food as a reward and crutch. I wrote about this in my post Eureka! Portion Control.  Having to put all my food in specifically sized, color coded little containers gave me pause to […]

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Coach Daddy

It's about fatherhood, futbol, and food.

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

