In between overdoing it

Sweet emotions is exactly what Disney’s new movie “Inside Out” brought out in me. I took my kids to see “Inside out” in 3D this weekend. To sum up but not give it all away, it is the story of a girl that loses her joy. ( The emotion of Joy as well as other emotions are personified in the movie.) All her childhood memories turn into sadness. As she grows up things in her life change and her happiest memories turn sad.

Through the movie all I could think about was, “Will my children lose their happy childhood memories as they grow older?” “Will I lose my sweet happy babies to melancholy, brooding teenagers devoid of emotion?” Then it happened right there in 3D the tears started to come, then faster then I could wipe them away. I was crying. An adult surrounded by children, in a kids movie and I was crying. The emotion of wanting to hold onto the joyful memories welled up in my. Like the emotion of Joy in the movie, I wanted to bag up the memories and keep them safe. Never let them go. I was crying at the idea that as my children age these memories will fade and ultimately be lost.

Life events happen, painful and tragic like 911 or the recent Charleston shootings. These event come home like the loss of a loved one or the betrayal of a friend. These things shake your foundation, cause you to lose your faith, lose your joy. They chip away at your emotions. This movie reminded me how desperately I want to shelter my children from these life events. How I want to protect them. How I want so badly to preserve their childhood joy. But these events will come despite my wants.

Like all Disney movies this one did have a happy ending but not without a lesson. That lesson… yes there is sadness and tragedy but thru this we come to a better appreciation of happiness. Many of our most cherished memories come out of a sadness. Some our happiest times are after weathering a greater storm. Thru this we appreciate and understand our feelings and ourselves. Such was the message in this movie.

I can’t stop these events from occurring or stop time and keep them babies forever under my protection. All I can do is be there when it happens. Help them grow thru these experiences into the people they are meant to be become. I can be there for them in the sadness but also cherish the joy they bring.

If you feel that you have lost your joy, do something right now to bring it back. Then hold on to it because it is precious. That’s what I intend to do. Hold on to my joy and never let it go.

Comments on: "“Inside Out” : Finding My Joy" (2)

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. LIVE KINDER. BE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

