In between overdoing it

salad

About a year ago when I started on my journey to cook healthy and conquer my digestive issues. I stumbled upon a site called Organize Yourself Skinny. There I discovered two methods of food prep that would become lifesavers in my battle for balance thru moderation. Freezer cooking and Mason Jars.

I will save freezer cooking for another day. Mason Jar Salads are basically a layered salad. The jars keep the ingredients separated and the tight fitting lid helps to keep the ingredients fresher longer. You can make a bunch on the weekend and have them thru the week. Tammy from Organize Yourself Skinny uses a wide mouth quart Mason Jar. She gives a great tutorial on her site, so I pretty much follow most of her directions.003

Since I don’t like recipes with a ton of ingredients, I have made some adjustments to what works for me. Her site has become a wonderful resource for recipes and creative inspiration. Here is my very simple Mason Jar Salad. For more recipes and a the tutorial from Organize Yourself Skinny click here.

First layer: 2-3 tbsps Organic Balsamic Vinaigrette004

Can really use any dressing that appeals to you but I try to use a non-creamy one to keep it on the healthy side. A little goes a long way. Add more if you like but really enough to cover the bottom should do it.

Seconds layer: Peppers and Cucumber

You want to have any thicker heartier veggies in this layer because they act as a barrier to prevent the dressing from getting on the other veggies and accouterments.

006Layer Three: Lettuce, other greens

Fourth Layer: Leftover roasted chicken (great for a small amount  leftover from a supermarket rotisserie chicken)

Fifth Layer: Chopped Almonds007

This layer can be any nuts, seeds or dried fruit that you fancy. I did not include any croutons because I’m trying to avoid bread but feel free to add those to this layer.

These Mason Jar Salads make a large amount. When you are ready to eat it, invert the jar so that the dressing runs over the lettuce and then dump the contents out into a bowl. It’s that easy. In my experience the Mason Jar Salads can be made up to four days in advance.

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

A Kinder Way

THINK KINDER. BE KINDER. LIVE KINDER.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

