In between overdoing it

book

           “Always do what you are afraid to do” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

This is a quote that has been popping up in my life for sometime now. It’s part of what got me to start this blog in the first place. For a long time I felt paralyzed by fear and self-doubt.

Recently, with the help of encouraging people and positive influences, I have been challenging myself, pushing myself out of the comfortable cocoon I was wrapped in. I was never a shy person, never someone who was afraid to express her feelings, but emotional inactivity, self-doubt and negativity grew until I no longer felt like the person I was.

So I have been trying to challenge my fears in little ways each day. This past weekend  as I was checking in to a hotel I challenged myself by asking for a discount..  I cemented the idea in my mind that I was going to casually ask if there we’re any discounts or upgrades available. Once I thought about it something weird happened… butterflies took flight in my stomach, my heart began to beat in my ears, and the voice in my head screamed that I shouldn’t do this.

butterfly

The closer I got to the front of the line, the louder my internal activity grew. Why? Why was I so scared. It was a simple question, people ask it all the time. Why was I so hesitant?

Then the moment came, I asked in what felt like the smallest most unassuming voice, “Do you have any discounts or upgrades available?” I felt like a little girl about to be scolded, there I has said it, the question was out there.  Luckily, it was not out there long before the clerk began talking about  upgrades like business class for an extra fee. Not was I was looking for, so I specified that I was really interested in a discount. The words sounded so mousey and un-commanding to me but they were out.

“No, no discounts we’re available” she replied, but it really didn’t. matter at that point. I met the challenge and was pretty darn proud of myself.

Lessons learned from this exercise

1) Most fear is built up in our own mind.and the situation is usually never what we imagine it to be.

2)Your voice really is not as small as you might think and what you say has an effect

3)Be specific in asking for what you want. The worst you can get is a no.

Let me know what you think!

In Between Moderation

In between overdoing it

SoulyRested

keeping it simple - homesteading and homeschooling in rural New England - being solely rested in Christ

Practical Parenting Blog

Practical Parenting Advice from a Pediatrician and Mom

A Momma's View

My thoughts about homeschooling, health and fitness, being an expat, kids and just life in general. My personal Lifestyle Blog!

Coach Daddy

It's about fatherhood, futbol, and food.

Blogger Hacks

A Blog for learning about Blogging, Digital Marketing, Content Marketing, Affiliate Marketing and Making Money with Your Blog.

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

SimpLeigh Organized

Save Money While Organizing and Decorating Your Home!

The Middle Cinnamon Roll

Used to be a concert pianist. Now a grateful single mom in a soul-sucking cubicle with too many hobbies.

Insane Roots

Where it all began! In the beginning it was just a place to brainstorm my memoir. It has now became my voice in this noisey world!

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

In My Cluttered Attic

YOU MUST HAVE USED YOUR GPS—BECAUSE YOU'VE JUST LOCATED THE WACKIEST MOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND BLOG ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET. WELCOME TO... 'THE ATTIC!"

Dream Big, Dream Often

A Blog to Inspire and Challenge You!

